Air to the Throne 2017

Nicholi Rogatkin pips Matt Jones to Take Back-To-Back Crowns

The FMB WorldTour's newest event Air to the Throne took place this weekend at the London Bike Show. Over 30 of the world’s best riders took part and the level of riding throughout was mind-blowing. This was the biggest freestyle mountain bike event to ever take place in the UK and it did not disappoint!

Torquato Testa (ITA), winner of White Style in the first FMB event of the season last month, continued his fine form and qualified for the semi-finals in first place, putting down a big run including a huge double backflip. Nicholi Rogatkin (USA), Matt Jones (GBR), Diego Caverzasi (ITA) and Simon Pages (FRA) all safely progressed. Watch the top qualifying runs below. 

The Top 16 from Saturday’s qualifiers were joined by Tom Cardy (GBR) and Elof Lindh (SWE), who progressed to the semi-finals courtesy of strong runs in the last chance qualifiers on Sunday morning. 

The semi-finals then cut the field down from 18 to the final 8. 

Going into the final Elof Lindh (SWE), Viktor Douhan (SWE), Torquato Testa (ITA), Diego Caverzasi (ITA), Matt Jones (GBR), Simon Pages (FRA), Adrian Tell (NOR) and Nicholi Rogatkin (USA) all knew only a perfect run would put them in with a chance of winning the title.

In the best of 2-run final, neither Elof, Viktor or Adrian managed to string together their best run - putting them out of the running for the podium, and despite a strong first run, Torquato unfortunately crashed on the penultimate jump of his second run, also knocking him out of contention.

Diego put down two solid runs, whilst, Simon Pages, who was super slick all weekend, nailed his run putting him in with the chance of a place on the podium.

Matt Jones put down one of the runs of his life in his 1st run, pulling out a double backflip on the penultimate jump. Thrilled with the run, Matt chose not to take his 2nd, and it was a waiting game from that point.

World Number 1 Nicholi already had a great first run in the bag, and was last to drop. He executed his second run to perfection… 

With adrenaline pumping there was an anxious wait to see who had taken the podium positions and the 2017 Crown. 

Torquato Testa was confirmed in 5th place, Diego Caverzasi in 4th and Simon Pages in 3rd. The tension stepped up another notch before Matt Jones was confirmed in 2nd place, leaving Nicholi to collect his second Air to the Throne Crown and back-to-back wins in London. Winning the title by just 0.7 points from Matt Jones with a score of 96.00. 

Full results:

1 Nicholi Rogatkin

2 Matt Jones

3 Simon Pages

4 Diego Caverzasi

5 Torquato Testa

6 Viktor Douhan

7 Adrian Tell

8 Elof Lindh

9 Nicholas Terrier

10 Alex Alenko

11 Franck Paulin

12 Alex Cahill

13 Tom Cardy

14 Chris Raeber

15 Daryl Brown

16 Michael Meisel

17 Erik Fedko

18 Jonas Bachmann

19 Freddy Pulman

20 Loek Quaedflieg

21 Nicholas Hilton

22 Antonin Honore

23 Raymond Samson

24 Enzo Souza Haberi

25 Tom Reynolds

26 Matt Scott

27 Reed Boggs

28 Chopper Fielder

29 Jonny Keilhorn

30 Marc Diekmann

31 Paul Couderc

32 David Viltok

33 Loic Esteve